Reactions

November 28, 2012 at 9:22 am Leave a comment

Something that I’ve found interesting since coming home is comparing different people’s reactions to the way I lived for two years.

When I meet up with people or they want to know about my experience, I really have no idea where to start. This makes some conversations awkward, because people just sit there and wait for me to give them a 30-second roundup of The Peace Corps Experience. Which is impossible.

So instead, I just let people ask questions, because it lets me know what they want to know, what they’re interested in. For the most part, everyone has the same questions. It’s when I answer those questions that I get the best variations in reaction.

Here are some of my favorites:

“What was your shower like?”
“I didn’t have a shower. I had a bucket full of water that I bathed with.”
“So… you didn’t shower?”
“Not really.”
“EEEEWWWWWW!!!!!!”
– 3rd grade class in Lancaster, Ohio

“She had a dirt floor!”
“No I didn’t, I had cement!”
“Oh, well, she had a cement floor!!!”
– Grandma, telling someone else about my Peace Corps Experience

“So, no power. But… what about… MUSIC????”
“Well, I mean, I had my laptop.”
“Oh, GOOD.”
“But after 3 hours the battery died and I had to put it away until the next time I could charge it.”
*look of terror*
– high school best friend

While looking at my scrapbook:
“Wow, you were the only white person!”
– my high school best friend’s mom

“Have you gotten super good at packing lightly?”
– another high school friend

One more quote, though a little off-topic:
“So I think I’m going to move to Vanuatu.”
“Why?”
“Because then I can come back looking THAT GOOD!!!”
– my awesome aunt :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Adjustment Continues… Videos

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Just so you know…

The ideas and opinions in this blog are MINE and do NOT reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hi!

PC!!

I am part of the Peace Corps legacy. Learn more about the Peace Corps

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

